top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNaol Dinku

Week 8 - Ethiopian Icons and Elements for Design

Updated: Nov 4, 2022

Traditional Drawings I like the use of traditional drawings in Ethiopian design arts. For instance, the drawing of the woman drinking Ethiopian honey wine is indeed an expression of both beautiful outfits and freedom of Ethiopian women. Such design elements are crucial since they help to attract women from other parts of the world to visit the country for recreational reasons. I find the drawing not only fascinating but also a demonstration of attraction to tourists who would wish to visit Ethiopia to witness the rich culture. Connecting to my own experiences during my studies in the US, the drawing of the old man thinking provides a beautiful culture especially when the traditional hurts are viewed from the background. I like it because such landscapes are unique to Ethiopia and would attract guests from other countries. As a result, am convinced that the hotel industry in Ethiopia would attract global attention as tourists visit to see the rich heritage of Ethiopia vested in the traditional hurts. Besides, the traditional drawing styles used in Ethiopian churches remind me of creativity presented by my professor during a class one year ago. I did not know that such attractive sceneries existed in some parts of Ethiopia. This would be a great center of attraction to the tourism industry. I would expect that an old Ethiopian drawing style depicting a woman buying egg from a seller in the current market scenario is a masterpiece of its own. It would be significant in revealing Ethiopia as an agriculturally rich country where people participate in the trade of animal products. As a result, tourists who enjoy delicacies of chicken would not hesitate to seek the services of our hotels from all walks of the world.


History and Culture Ethiopia is one of the oldest nations in terms of both history and culture. The Adwa Battle is the most notable historical event of all. The Battle of Adwa for Ethiopians and all of Africa, it is crucial because it represents independence and serves as a wake-up call for other African countries to achieve their independence. Ethiopians are more united as a result of this conflict, hence that should be demonstrated as building elements. In my opinion, The painting and original photos depicting the battle of Adwa against Italy draws Italians attention. I would expect that showing this painting to Italians would attract their attention and evoke the desire to travel to Ethiopia to investigate the actual details surrounding the battle. As a result, they would be of significance to our hotel growth. Upon completion of my Master’s degree in Fay Jones School of Architecture, I would also wish to take my first internship in Rome Italy. I would bring my learning experiance to Addis Abeba, where I live, and create a language like Romans did, which combines high culture, historical architecture, fashion, and the arts. Many tourists, especially those unable to travel across Europe, would be drawn to such attractions. I've learned that bringing such designs to Ethiopia could look like establishing a mini-Rome in my country. As a result, when cultures are integrated with the local ones, there will be fair branding and diversity. During the internship, I hope to learn the architectural secrets behind luxury hotels such as The St. Regis Rome and DoubleTree by Hilton, as I hope to see the same technique developed in Addis Abeba in the near future. I believe that adopting such ideas into hotel rooms will attract international attention and contribute to restore Ethiopia's former greatness.


Chinese constructions have been infused with modern, inventive architecture. By merging or fusing its design components with Ethiopian building types, making tourists feel at home in Ethiopia would offer such a culture and other diversity to the hotel business there. Because the Chinese are nationalists and they will pick Addis Ababa as their final destination if we adopt their culture. As a rising architect and designer, it would be beneficial to add such elements to help Ethiopia's hotel sector and economy thrive. When tourism is flourishing, people will go because it makes them feel at home and welcome.


Previously, I thought that China has incorporated its modern and innovative skills into their buildings. However, I have learned that much of its architecture remains the same through centuries. However, I have realized that Chinese old-fashioned building designs can still create a unique taste in Ethiopia. Coupled with their unique dishes and their bulging population, I am certain that bringing such cultures in Addis Ababa would add diversity to the hotel industry in Ethiopia. This is because importing Chinese culture would be a milestone since their nationals, as well as other related Asians, would choose Addis Ababa as their destination of choice. As an upcoming architect and designer, it would be prudent if I borrow some of their designs such as the one used to construct the palace museum. The facility remains a legacy that helped in the formation of modern China gateway. Being the largest and most popular tourist center in Beijing, establishing a similar one in Ethiopia would act as an annex that attracts good proportions of tourists.





Adwa warriors and war deception in Art


Norm and Ceremony I would not be satisfied to complete my architectural career without visiting Abu Dhabi in UAE. From my research, I have learned that the city has attained an elevation of the eminent architectural design area. Although I have never been to Abu Dhabi, information gathered revealed that the city is boasting of a stunning skyline among the tallest skyscrapers in the world. I would like to borrow the innovative building skills that have stretched the limits of architectural imaginations in history. Even if Ethiopia does not match its first building that reached 300 meters high, at least Addis Ababa should have the highest skyscraper in Africa to attract visitors all over the world. I believe making a trip to Abu Dhabi would bring me into an encounter and reality with the top ten architectural wonders of the city. As a result, bringing such an experience to Ethiopia would guarantee Addis Ababa unprecedented luxury and unique experience for a lifetime. Studying in Addis Ababa did not offer me an opportunity to experience an abode fit for royalty. My city should in future adopt a world-class hotel with sublime sand stretch. I believe interaction with the designer of this palace Architect John Eliot would be a unique and special encounter that would change my architectural perception for life. Visiting other wonder architectural works in Abu Dhabi such as Yas Viceroy, Etihad Towers, the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque and Qars Al Hosn would widen my architectural scope as a young designer. Furthermore, my professor mentioned J. Mayer H architecture studio in Germany and that has aroused my curiosity to visit Berlin as well. The studio has created a house in Germany referred to as Casa Morgana designed by landscape architect and artist Tita Giese. My intention to tour Berlin is to ensure my studies borrow from the concrete shells design engraved in the walls of the Casa. The fact that the house has its elements arranged in ziggurat style that narrows towards the top provides me with the hope that I would be able to bring such fascinating designs back to Addis Ababa to give it a different taste of architecture. Learning from the design of how irregularly stacked boxes connect irregularly together towards creating an interior of multi-leveled spaces would give me a competitive edge over local architects in Ethiopia.

Abu Dhabi 2019

Cross Design The most important part of the cross design is the revelation exhibited in the collections presented here. The collections are vital because they demonstrate Ethiopian culture as deeply rooted in Christianity. I believe incorporating the designs with cross tattoo on the neck and forehead would be a significant achievement in selling an appealing culture to the globe. I have a strong feeling that from Italians culture of treating Christian holidays with maximum celebrations and trips, the adoption of Italian culture would tap into that moment when they tour the world and chose Ethiopia as their number one destination in Africa.

Clothes Patterns I agree that Ethiopia has one of the most diversified cotton made and culture represented clothes patterns. Each clothes is designed according to religious symbols and cultural representation. This is because when one looks at different clothes, it is easy to tell a member of Oromo, Amhara or Welayat tribes. In my view, such cultural and religious diversities make rich heritage that creates centers of attraction to global tourists visiting the country. In addition, am convinced that the fact that the Europeans did not colonize Ethiopia puts it at the epicenter of cultural diversities because there is minimal erosion of traditional heritages by western cultures. Besides, the presence of more than 82 tribes is an advantage because the numerous numbers represent richer diversity.







32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Approach outline

Methods Material culture investigation Innovative and sustainable local material in traditional Africa architecture 1. Skin a) Bamboo b)...

Outline

QUESTION: How can we create a hotel industry in Ethiopia that expresses cultural identity in the globalized environment? Terms –...

Week 12 - Approach

Approach This research explores the state of architectural designs of hotels in Ethiopia and the place they stand as regarding cultural...

Comments


bottom of page